Seen Her Before – Jake Guiswite

There was something about the way she

Sipped her cocoa

Nudged her chair

Stared

That told me I’d seen her before

Maybe I’d ask her her name

Say hello

Just to know

Where I’d seen her before

Then I remembered

I’d said hello

Years ago

Knew her name

She’s the same

We’d sipped cocoa here before

Stepped through that door

Exchanged kisses

I’d asked her to be my Mrs.

We’d planted a garden

Browsed for a gnome

Then she soiled our garden

And left our home

I remembered I’d seen her before

But not again.

Leave a Reply

